Record turnout overwhelmingly votes Trump in Union County

Featured Stories, News
election returns

BLAIRSVILLE, Ga – Union County had zero contested local elections, but citizens still turned out in record numbers for state and federal races.

Overall, Union County overwhelmingly chose President Donald Trump with 12,638 votes (81.29 percent) compared to former Vice President Joe Biden who received 2,801 votes (18.02 percent).  Libertarian Jo Jorgensen received 108 votes (0.69 percent). 15,547 Union citizens voted for president. Approximately 19,201 people are registered to vote in Union County.

The voter turnout breaks down as follows:

  • 8,242 – advance votes
  • 3,556 – absentee mail-in votes
  • 3, 749 – election day votes

On down the ballot, Senator David Perdue earned 12,410 votes (80.77 percent), challenger Jon Ossoff received 2,616 (17.03 percent), and Libertarian Shane Hazel received 339 votes (2.21 percent).

In the special senate election, Union County stuck with their former Ninth District Representative Doug Collins, who earned 8,092 (52.72 percent). Every county in the Ninth District went for Collins, but he didn’t have the votes to overcome incumbent Senator Kelly Loeffler’s lead and conceded to her around 10 p.m. on election night. In Union, Loeffler received 3,945 votes (25.50 percent) and Democrat challenger Raphael Warnock earned 1,904 votes (12.40 percent).

As for the new Ninth District House Representative, Andrew Clyde (R) received 12,496 votes (82.54 percent) to Devin Pandy (D)’s 2,643 votes (17.46 percent).

Precinct voter turnout in Union County.

Incumbent State Senator District 51 Steve Gooch (R) easily retained his seat, and in Union, Gooch earned 12,130 votes (80.59 percent) and challenger June Krise (D) received 2,922 (19.41 percent).

The Georgia General Assembly House of Representatives District Eight seat went to Stan Gunter (R). Union County voters turned out for Gunter and cast 12,644 votes (83.28 percent) in his favor. His opponent Dave Cooper (D) received 2,538 votes (16.72 percent).

Public Service Commissioner District One Jason Shaw (I) earned the majority of the vote in Union County as did District 4 Commissioner Lauren “Bubba” McDonald.

All results are unofficial until certified by the Secretary of State.

Leave a comment

Back to Top