Wade wants flexibility in education tax spending


William Wade

DAWSONVILLE, Ga. – Board member William Wade made a plea for citizen support of HB 781, that would  give Georgia school systems more flexibility in spending education sales tax revenue during Monday’s Dawson County Board of Education meeting.

The bill, which is sponsored by State Rep. Kevin Tanner, would allow Georgia school systems to amend the existing sales tax to include maintenance and education programs in the authorized purposes for expenditures. If approved in the General Assembly, the bill would have to be approved in a referendum by Dawson County voters to be enacted.

The bill received a favorable report in a House committee on Feb. 8.

Wade told those in attendance, “It wouldn’t hurt to call the Speaker (David Ralston) and let him know you are in support of that legislation. If you’re not supportive, it won’t hurt my feelings if you didn’t call.”

The girls’ 7th grade basketball team posted an 11-1 season in winning the Mountain League title.

Aside from Wade’s comment, most of the meeting was devoted to recognizing outstanding achievements by students and staff.

The Dawson County 7th grade girls’ basketball team received special recognition for posting an 11-1 record and winning the Mountain League Championship.

Dawson County High School students Amber Autry and Rob Cox were honored for their outstanding performances at the Future Farmers of America (FFA) state competition. Autry finished second in Area 1 and third in state in Floral Design. She also had the highest score on the written exam.

Cox was second in Area 1 in Electrical Wiring Problem Solving. He also finished second in Area 1 and fourth in state in Lawn Mower Safety and Operations and had the highest individual score in Dairy Evaluation.

Riverview Elementary School was recognized for receiving the Georgia Office of Student Achievement (GOSA) Platinum Greatest Gains Award.

Priscilla Taylor presents HOBY award to outstanding student leaders Tayon Daniel (left) and Braxton Zeidler.

School and system spelling bee winners recognized included Briana Escoto (Robinson Elem.), Clara Baldwin (Kilough Elem.), Bella Boyd (Blacks Mill Elem.), Eva Fulmer (Riverview Elem.), Noah Smith (Dawson County Middle) and Brandon Cramer (Dawson County Junior High). Baldwin was the system winner and Cramer was named alternate.

The Board also honored its school counselors: Sabrina Graves  (School Social Worker), Beverly Maloney (Homeless Liaison), Jordan Lefevre (Black’s Mill Elem.), Nicole Purdy  (Kilough Elem.), Jeremy Lavender (Riverview Elem.), Lance Stiffler (Robinson Elem.), Pat Finn (Hightower Academy/Dawson County Jr. High), Brian Flath (Dawson Middle School), Becca Wilson (Dawson County Jr. High), Cherie Ferguson  (Dawson County High) and Kate Jarrard (Dawson County High).

Priscilla Taylor of the Dawson County Womens’ Club presented the club’s Hugh O’Brien award (HOBY) to Taylor Daniel and Braxton Zeidler.



Fetch Your News is a hyper local news outlet that covers Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Fannin, Gilmer, Pickens, Union, Towns and Murray counties as well as Cherokee County in N.C. If you would like to follow up-to-date local events in any of those counties, please visit us at FetchYourNews.com



Leave a comment

Back to Top